Dear Editor:

Re: Find fair way to stop Kawamoto’s blight –  Honolulu Star Advertiser – June 14, 2012

If imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, then I am flattered that Rep. Hashem copied my Kahala bill, and my Dog Detection bill and my Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease resolution.

HB 2852-12, the Kahala Landowner Liability bill, is almost a word for word copy my HB 257-11 Real Property Blight.  It was researched and drafted by the late Eric Maehara of the Legislative Reference Bureau.  Another bill of Eric’s, that was not copied or passed, would have made it a misdemeanor for landlords who egregiously flaunt property maintenance.   Kawamoto has compiled dozens of citations since 2006 and jumps into action when the City threatens liens on his lots.

Let’s give credit where credit is due.  Though Richard Turbin is to be commended for his persistence in pursuing Kawamoto’s destruction of the neighborhood, but Lucinda Pyles, Kahala resident, should be recognized for her diligence in testifying before the Legislature for several years in favor of my Kahala bills.

Mahalo for the compliment in copying my bills, but perhaps I should be thanked for the ideas.

Rep. Barbara Marumoto, Kaimuki/Waialae/Kahala, 19th House District

